Skip to content

The Novel

May 3, 2012

So I’m thinking about starting a novel. I’m just not exactly sure yet what I want the story line to be. I do know I have all these passages written here and there, and although they don’t quite connect yet, I’m sure they could. Like this one:

Emma Bennett grew up under the canopy of the tallest cottonwood tree she’s sure has ever existed on this green earth. But her world wasn’t so big then. Every Fall, the giant branches would give their cotton buds up to the ocean breeze, leaving tangles of fresh cotton stuck around welcome mats and behind hurricane shutters across the neighborhood. And every year, Emma would try to turn her 10-speed upside down and into some semblance of a cotton gin. Needless to say, those heaping, matted piles of cotton never did get woven into thread.

If anyone has any ideas for plots, I’m all ears.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

