Skip to content

Sketchbook Project

January 17, 2011

Writing can be beautiful. It can be witty. It can be anything you want, and that’s why I’m a writer. But sometimes words just don’t say it all. So, to flex my artistic muscles, I entered the Art House Co-op Sketchbook Project 2011. It was fun–I’ve always liked to draw and paint. But I tried to push myself to go a little outside my limits. I unbound and rebound my sketchbook accordion-style so I could do a panoramic watercolor on the backside of the pages. I focused on the use of mixed media. And the kicker: I attempted to use as few words as possible. Only visuals for this writer’s sketchbook.

To set the tone for a wordless sketchbook, on the front cover I painted a typewriter with its keys falling off.

The category I picked as the theme for my sketchbook was “face in the crowd.” That’s how I always felt in NYC, when I was most inspired.

I’m a coffee addict. Coffee rings are all over my papers.

Here’s the only spread where I chose to use words. I wrote one sentence: “even dead ideas are beautiful.” I made this spread by cutting up all my old notes from last quarter. New quarter notebook purge.

I never feel more anonymous than at the beach in the winter, all bundled up on the dunes.

Ode to NYC. I scratched out the Brooklyn Bridge in a thick layer of oil pastels.

Cello, cello strings.

I hope Heaven’s gates look something like the wrought iron gates in Charleston. And here’s a pocket (Hi, Kelly!) to tuck a bio card into.

What it looks like all spread out. And if you open it the other way…

I used watercolors to paint the NYC skyline on the horizon. With Ponce. It feels this far away to me.

Well there it is! I’m happy with the results. It would have never happened without my Mom, who overnighted me my sketchbook so I could finish it during Atlanta’s Snowpocolypse. I had left it at home by accident, and it almost never got finished.

Also, my friend Mike Haftel did an amazing job photographing all the spreads for me. Thanks again. Now I’ll always have a record of it, but this sucka’s getting postmarked tomorrow.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    January 18, 2011 1:32 pm

    Another home-run!! You truly have that unique talent of being able to take something ordinary and make it extraordinary — something I’m sure that you inherited from my side of the family!

    • sarahlorene permalink*
      January 18, 2011 1:34 pm

      Haha, thanks Mom! 😀

  2. Kelly Gatling permalink
    January 19, 2011 4:21 pm

    This is really amazing! Love the pocket and the cello! :] Also, really interesting thought about the gates of Heaven!

    Very impressed and proud!

  3. lisa balser permalink
    April 1, 2011 5:15 pm

    That is beautiful! Impressive. Especially for a writer! : )

    • sarahlorene permalink*
      April 1, 2011 10:28 pm

      Thanks Lisa! Art House Co-Op has a ton of fun projects.

      Oh and thanks for subscribing 🙂

Leave a Reply

