Skip to content

Keep Your Chin Up

June 21, 2010

If there’s one thing New York always reminds me to do, it’s to keep your chin up. (If you look down, you only see trash anyways.) Seriously though–tough luck, bad days, blue moods…they turn around in a second here.

And I don’t know what it is, but this city just inspires me to write. I can go for months in Atlanta and find only my school work interesting, but here, surrounded by tall buildings and thousands of other souls, the inspiration seems limitless. Maybe it’s just about finding the moments to find inspiration. There’s a lot of waiting in NY, so people have a lot of time to think. In Atlanta traffic, you can’t do much but think about your next strategic driving maneuver.

Yesterday I was perusing Alphabet City with my friend Anjelica. In a heat-induced stupor, we stumbled into an antique shop blindly looking for some air-conditioning. We found a section with old postcards. In other words: my own, personal gold mine. We must have spent an hour looking at the 100-year-old correspondences. All the post cards were sent from NYC. To mothers, fathers, lovers, friends. I wish I had a scanner so I could show them to you, but I’ll scan them in when I get home. The way we communicate with our loved ones is so different now, but what we say will never change.  Here are some highlights:

1944: (Soldier to mother)  “Dear Mother, Received your valentine, and thanks a lot.”

1911: (NYC Hospital Postcard) “Joe is rational now. Very very weak. Everything looks brighter, unless something unforeseen happens.”

1946: (To a friend) “As far as resting is concerned in the city, I guess it’s just out of the question.”

1909: (From college) “This is a dorm here, all the girls say it is very swell compared to some others.”

1956: (To a fellow guy. Typical) “Arrived in NYC. Been standing on the corner watching all the girls go by.”

1938: (The original text message) “Dear Dad, Everything’s swell. Did not have time to write last night, will write more tonight.”

And a personal favorite– 1911: (From an aunt to a nephew) “Dear Kid, It was all your fault, but I still love you. And I miss you even when we do fight. Love, Aunt Ester”

Today, technology changes faster than most people can keep up with it. Sadly, I doubt our thoughts and words sent through texts and emails or saved in blogs will be so timeless.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 11:37 pm

    man! I love things like that too. That is really cool that you found that. I would really like to visit there whenever I go back to New York so I hope you remembered where it was at!

Leave a Reply

