Skip to content

A Newly Lined Sky

October 25, 2009

Here I am. I’ve arrived in the heart of the South. Atlanta, Georgia–the land of peaches and traffic, of Coca-Cola and Gone With the Wind, of Southern Belles and hip hop. The New York City of the Southeast. My home for the next two years. I’m pleased that I love the skyline here as much as I loved New York’s, and I can see it from outside of my apartment.

I’ve been blessed with a wonderful roommate…a guy I’ve known since I was about six years old. Our quirky friendship has developed into one where he can kick my door in and assassinate me with his Nerf gun on a whim. I feign utter annoyance.

And The Creative Circus, what a school! I can’t believe I go here – still- and classes have been in session for three weeks. I’m the one in pastels and pearls in a sea of eccentric, hipster artists. But I love it–and I’m slowly adapting while also staying true to myself. I still wear pearls, for instance, but now I also wear leggings and boots and drink PBR by the pitcher in hole-in-the-wall bars.

The work load here is insane compared to any other school I’ve ever attended. In the past few weeks I’ve written hundreds of headlines, drawn about a hundred marker comps, and filled sixty pages of a sketch book with creative ideas. I’m always creating new things and stretching myself….no simple memorization of facts here. I’ve been trying to stay in touch with people as much as possible, but the constant work keeps me busy. I hope everyone dear to me is well. A friend of mine had a death in the family as soon as we arrived. I can’t imagine…and just pray everyone I love stays safe and healthy.

With all of the high quality artists that are here, it’s hard not to question my own worth and abilities, but I know I’m in the right place. My work has already improved so much in this short time. Creative advertising is so different than PR…it’s been a switch for sure. Thinking so out of the box…so out there….it’s going to take me a little while to learn the craft. Good thing I have two years. I love and miss everyone.

Inside there's an actual circus tent. Be jealous.

Inside there's an actual circus tent. Be jealous.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 10:18 am

    Sarah, it sounds like you are having a wonderful journey already. I’m so jealous because you are so adventurous and try new things. I can’t wait to hear more about your classes and the work you are doing. Only one thing I disagree with. PBR? By the pitcher!? You need better taste in beer haha.

  2. Ashley permalink
    October 26, 2009 10:28 am

    PBR?! Major downgrade.

  3. sarahlorene permalink*
    October 26, 2009 12:53 pm

    Trust me, I know haha.

  4. December 11, 2009 9:33 pm

    Truthful words, some true words man. Thanx for making my day!!

Leave a Reply

