Skip to content

Sand in my Shoes

July 30, 2009

Well y’all, it took me about two months to get back into a beachy state of mind. The salt and sand have soothed my soul but I do miss the sound of New York taxi horns. No one here really blows their horn while driving, unless it’s a life or death situation. And sometimes not even then. One thing’s for certain: I’m finally remembering what it’s like to walk with a little bit of sand in my shoes. With the radio in my car usually turned to the beach music station, the AC cranked up full blast, and a beach chair and towel permanently stowed in my trunk (for unplanned beach trips), life does seem a little bit simpler.

On my nights off, one of my favorite things to do is find an empty adirondack chair at Bummz, a local’s favorite beach bar, slip a Landshark lager into my koozie (which no one here looks at in amusement) and listen to the waves and some music.  I’m also simply dying of angst while awaiting the release of Pat Conroy’s new book, South of Broad. He’s my favorite author. Ever. And he’s coming out of retirement after over a decade. The big day is August 14th, and my best friend’s pre-ordered it for my birthday. Love her to pieces. I’ve also once again seemed to take a liking to phrases such as ‘love her to pieces.’ My walking pace, although considerably faster than it once was, has slowed way down from my NYC walking pace. It’s just too darn hot and humid to bother walking anywhere fast.

I’m just trying to enjoy the couple of months I have left living at home with my family. There have been several recent drownings in Myrtle Beach, way more than usual, and it’s hard not to appreciate that everyone I love is safe and sound.  My sights are set on Atlanta. I’ve found an apartment with a good friend I’ve grown up with, and even though I’ll always be a Carolina Girl, I’m starting to look forward to becoming a little bit of a Georgia Peach.

Note to readers: Since my life is taking me to new places, I had to change the name of my blog! I knew that no matter where I went or what I did, I’d always see the world through Southern eyes. So I hope you like the new name of my blog “Southern Belles Ring Louder.” I have a registered domain for it too: southernbellesringlouder.com. Also, thanks to all my friends who gave me wonderful suggestions.

n21305858_32062585_522

One Comment leave one →
  1. ghanian permalink
    July 31, 2009 9:02 am

    Congrats on your first post of your new blog!! I look forward to many more!! oxoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

