Skip to content

Lucky to Have Been Where I Have Been, Lucky To Be Going Home Again

June 5, 2009

Well, readers. All good things must come to an end. And my time in New York City is no exception. At least for now. Such bittersweetness. As I approach my final week here in the city, I can’t help but think back on what a beautiful year this has been. I’ve learned so much about myself and about other people. When I moved here, I didn’t know a soul, and since I’ve been here, I’ve made friends whom I hope to keep in touch with for years to come. I’ve met some people that I wish I hadn’t met, but I know that I learned something from each of them. I’m leaving New York City with confidence that I didn’t have when I came here. And I know that moving here was one of the bravest, best things I could have done.

When I’m old and frail and sitting in a rocker on some front porch, I want to be able and smile and know that I lived life to the fullest. This past year in New York City, I worked in a nationally-respected PR firm, danced in some of the most famous nightclubs in the world, waited tables on one of the oldest streets in the city, saw several spectacular Broadway shows, discovered Guinness, learned to love new cuisines, struggled to pay rent, learned what being cold really is, dyed my hair brown and then back to blond again, introduced several people to grits, learned to navigate the Subway system, REALLY learned to stand up for myself, changed my career path, and so much more. A year well-lived, I’d say.

I’m looking forward to Atlanta. And to The Creative Circus. I hope that I’ll have the best of both worlds there: a little bit of big-city, a little bit of Southern charm. I already have some friends there, so the transition should be a little bit easier.

Colbie Callait and Jason Mraz’s song is stuck in my head, and one lyric is being replayed over and over again. Very fitting. “Lucky to have been where I have been, lucky to be going home again…”

Oh, and PS: I’m going to continue with my blog, of course, the name is just going to change. I’m taking suggestions!

clare interns! roomie2 Penn State peppercomhalloween larry roomie

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alicia permalink
    June 7, 2009 2:27 pm

    Good luck Sarah! We’ll miss you, but you’re always welcome back!!

  2. Jackie permalink
    June 9, 2009 8:54 am

    i just got really really depressed :o(

  3. Clare permalink
    August 25, 2009 3:35 pm

    Aww, catching up on your blog makes me so excited for you and sad that we may not be together again anytime soon! Love the pics and miss ya and the city.

  4. sarahlorene permalink
    August 26, 2009 2:21 pm

    Don’t you worry, Clare! Where there’s a will there’s a way. And I’m sure there’s a pretty cheap direct flight from Atlanta to Washington so I can come visit you and vice versa.

    BEST of luck with starting your new job!

Leave a Reply

