Skip to content

The Little Things

January 16, 2009

One of my new year’s resolutions is to find happiness in the little things. Although I’ve always been a pretty optimistic person by nature, I know that I have room to grow in the not-sweating-the-small-stuff department. Hence, the new resolution.

My new job is starting out very well. I feel like quite the young professional. One who can’t really afford the city, so she sacrifices with the long commute to Brooklyn. One who calls her mom every night to make her laugh while regaling the funny quirks and antics of her new coworkers.

And now that I’ve been in my new apartment in Brooklyn for a few weeks, I’m slowly starting to discover the hidden treasures that are around every corner. I’m not going to lie, at first, my neighborhood scared me a little. I was positive I had just made one of the biggest mistakes of my life. (Talk about sweating the small stuff…) My Brooklyn ‘hood in Prospect Heights is a litter rougher around the edges than Manhattan. It’s full of run down buildings, warehouses and graffiti, and isn’t very pretty to look at. But I found out that, not only was it NOT a huge mistake, the move was a very good decision.

My roommate Christina and I have a beautiful apartment, with mahogany cabinets and huge windows. During our fajita nights and late-night, roommate-bonding talks, I think about how happy and content I am in my life right now.

There’s a quaint, famous diner right down the street from us called Tom’s Restaurant. They’ve been a Brooklyn staple for 70 years, and claim to have the best malts ever. There’s always a line, unless of course, you live right by it and know when to go. Christina and I got a huge breakfast the other day for only $6! Score!

There’s also a ton of fun nightlife all around me. It’s all very “Brooklyn” though…hole in the wall bars with Burlesque dancers and house music.  I can’t help but kind of love it.

And one really special part of my neighborhood–there’s cobblestone path that leads me right to the subway every morning, which of course always makes me smile as I think of the warm, balmy days of Charleston.

I really feel like my life is starting this year. So I say, I’m going to enjoy the little things…while in Brooklyn, New York.

Tom's Restaurant

Tom's Restaurant

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erwin permalink
    January 18, 2009 12:53 am

    Oh man, Prospect Heights. I used to work at a high school around there (I won’t mention it, bad experience, but it’s right across from the Brooklyn Museum to give you a hint). Good to see that you’re enjoying it though.

  2. March 1, 2009 7:37 am

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

Leave a Reply

