Skip to content

Snow in the Big Apple

January 1, 2009

Light, twirling, fluffy snow. Most Southerners find snow magical, including me. I can’t help but feel a little pull of excitement when I see the first flurries start to fall. The past couple of times it’s snowed, I’ve gotten a few eye-rolls and chuckles when I’ve excitedly exclaimed, “It’s practically blizzarding!” Unlike my friends from the North, I don’t think I’ll ever feel jaded towards snow. I’ll just have to reign in my excitement a little bit.

Sure, it’s very wet and very cold, and it makes getting around a bit of challenge. And I now know all too well that it causes flight cancellations, but it’s still snow! It means hot chocolate and no school and snow angels and it makes everything beautiful.

No matter how long I’m in the Big Apple, the Southern girl in me will always be peeking out her window on wintery, overcast days, hoping to catch a glimpse of snow.

new-york-city-snow

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mia permalink
    January 1, 2009 10:48 pm

    I really love the snow if I’m watching it from inside beside a fireplace. Virginia has been snow-free this winter break, which is sad. But, I don’t mind living vicariously through you!

  2. January 12, 2009 2:29 pm

    I’m glad to hear someone else feels this way! I was born and raised in Florida (I know, culturally not the south, but weather-wise very southern) and everyone tells me I won’t be able to handle NY winters when I move there… I think I’ll be so excited about snow that I won’t notice my fingers and toes turning into icicles 🙂

    • sarahlorene permalink
      January 16, 2009 4:04 pm

      Yes, Jessica, trust me, you’ll be excited! It’s a bit of a pain, but so worth it : )

Leave a Reply

