Skip to content

Happy Holidays from the Big Apple

December 8, 2008

Most people would agree that the holiday season is the best time of year in New York City, including me. I’m falling in love with the Big Apple all over again. But since I’ve been here, I’ve only heard people talk about the holiday decorations that are big and glitzy and obvious.  The Rockefeller Center tree lighting…the store-front window displays. Both of those are beautiful and exciting, but I think there are so many little things in this city that make Christmas in New York City special. I love that, in addition to hot dogs, street vendors roast actual chestnuts on the sidewalk. I love that as I walk down Columbus Avenue to my little apartment, I breathe in the smell of pine trees when passing the corner where freshly-cut Christmas trees are for sale.
p1010318 p1010317

I love there are just as many blue Hanukkah (sorry if that is spelled incorrectly, when i asked my friend Mia if it was spelled right, her reply was “I don’t know; I love Jesus.”) decorations as there are green and red Christmas ones.

I love that Santa walks his dogs in Bryant Park.

p1010300

The commercial store front decorations are wonderful, but my favorites are all the humble apartment decorations. As I was walking through the city today, I thought about the magical quality this city has to it during the holidays that other cities are missing. I think that its because you walk everywhere here, so you get the chance to pass so many decorated neighborhoods and homes.

p1010298

The West Village decorations are quaint and younger, but the Upper East Side’s are classic and glamorous.  Sure, Macy’s windows are famous, but give me apartment balconies adorned with garlands, Christmas trees in apartment windows and simple wreaths. That’s really the holiday season in New York City.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Moses permalink
    December 8, 2008 12:36 am

    They obviously don’t offer Religious Sensitivity training whereever your friend “Mia” works. No wonder the world is in such turmoil.

  2. December 8, 2008 9:51 am

    I completely agree! I love all the little things as well and can’t believe I’m leaving in a week!!! :o(

  3. December 8, 2008 11:48 am

    Gosh, Santa’s reindeer are a lot smaller than I remember! Thanks for the great weekend filled with holiday cheer!

Leave a Reply

