Skip to content

If I Didn’t Live Here, I Never Would Have Believed…

November 19, 2008

…that SO few places take credit cards. Much to the dismay of the friends from whom I’m constantly borrowing and repaying money, I don’t think I’ll ever learn my lesson. CARRY CASH!

…that even IF a cabbie has a credit card machine in his car, he’ll pretty much hate you if you don’t pay in cash.

…that hardly any public places offer complimentary Wi Fi. Or Wi Fi at all for that matter.

…that servers just don’t divide checks up here. They just don’t. You get over that pretty fast.

…that the ‘personal space bubble’ is not a factor on the Subway. You can practically sit on someone, just don’t look at them for too long. That’s a problem.

…the homeless people in NYC don’t really want food. Or Starbucks Gift Cards. They want money for alcohol.

…that cart-food is tasty. Actually, I’m still struggling with this one.

…that you can get delivery from everywhere. Everywhere!

…that New York City is full of good and friendly people!!

Oh the things you find out…only in New York.
skyline

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Clare Abdalla permalink
    November 20, 2008 9:45 am

    Although I give you crap, I never mind paying for you. It’s like we are on constant mini-dates. Why does our magical relationship have to end in Dec? 😦

  2. Neal permalink
    November 20, 2008 1:27 pm

    Sarah,

    If I didn’t live in South Carolina I never would have believed…

    …that it could rain in the front yard, but not the backyard.

    …that certain vehicles were legally allowed on the road.

    …that it was possible to feel comfortable wearing flip-flops in the dead of winter.

    …that some people think the Civil War is still going on. (haha, just kidding!)

    …that it doesn’t have to be cloudy to rain.

    …that flip-flops are acceptably worn with dress clothes. (However, I don’t ever do this.)

    …that, sadly, the beach could be taken for granted.

    I really enjoyed this post! We already talked about a few of the items you mentioned, but they’re still surprising to me! Keep that creative eye open for more interesting things to write about… you’re my New York informant since I’ve never been. 🙂

  3. Neal permalink
    November 20, 2008 1:28 pm

    Oh, also…

    …what the heck sweetgrass and pluff mud are.

  4. Doug permalink
    November 20, 2008 5:10 pm

    A food cart shout out – I’ll sleep well tonight.

  5. Chinese Delivery Guy permalink
    November 21, 2008 12:52 am

    Dear Sarah,

    Please stop trying to pay me in traveler’s checks. It seems you have noticed the importantance of carrying cash. This also means IN YOUR APARTMENT.
    Thank you.

    Li Tong Pan

  6. Jennifer Alderete permalink
    November 21, 2008 6:34 pm

    Sarah-

    This one is so funny to me… they don’t like credit in NY? How in the world do you pay for things. I hate carrying cash… HATE IT! I spend cash way to fast- I prefer the plastic!

  7. March 31, 2010 5:30 am

    This post is beyond awesome. I am always wondering what to do and what not to do so I will follow some of these tips.

Leave a Reply

