Skip to content

Wagner’s Cove

November 11, 2008

New York is limitless. Broadway shows, museums, nightlife. But to me, nothing compares to Central Park. Nothing.

The first day I moved here in August, I spent hours exploring the twists and turns of the little trails, the fountains and statues, the open lawns. It’s been my favorite place ever since for several reasons:

1. There are rowboats in the Lake. Rowboats! Very “The Notebook”.
2. It’s the only place in New York where you can see Fall foliage.
3. There’s always the sound of music…somewhere…in the background.
4. You can play a fun game of dodge-the-extreme-bicyclists-so-you-don’t-die.
5. Wagner’s Cove.wagnercove2

Walking down into Wagner’s Cove is like walking into a storybook. A small, mossy, stone staircase leads you down into a pristine little hideaway, canopied with leaning oak trees and surrounded by steep bedrock inclines. The shady, damp sitting area slopes off into water of the Lake (yes, it’s actually called “the Lake”), where little rowboats–rowboats!–float by. There’s a gazebo that overlooks the water. It reminds me of Brookgreen Gardens in Myrtle Beach. It’s calm. It’s perfect.

I just had to find out what the history of this cove was. Who had made such a perfect little wagners-coveplace in this big city? Who was Wagner? Turns out, Robert F. Wagner was the mayor of New York from 1954-1965. The gazebo is called the Cherry Hill Boat Landing, one of six boat landings that dotted the shoreline of the Lake at the turn of the twentieth century. Passenger boats used to circle around the Lake, picking up and dropping off park-goers. Can’t you just see the ladies in their long hoop skirts (…they had those up North too, right?) being ferried around? Love it!

Another great thing about Central Park: the view of the city from across Sheep Meadow at night. I do not, I repeat, DO NOT recommend going into Central Park at night. And I’m not actually going on the record to say that I’ve been there either. But, y’all, I’m just sayin’…the view is breathtaking. You may not be able to see stars in Manhattan. But where else do stars pale in comparison to the sparkling, mesmerizing lights of the city? Nowhere. Only in New York.

city-lights3

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Your Biggest Fan permalink
    November 11, 2008 8:54 pm

    Sure you haven’t been there at night haha you know you’re a daredevil at heart.
    Loved the post ❤

  2. Erwin Bernal permalink
    November 11, 2008 10:04 pm

    I worked in Central Park in the summer of 1997. It was a high school conservation program that built trails and ditches. That was also the summer Garth Brooks played there, so after “work”, and friend and I attended the thing. I don’t like country music, but it was pretty cool.

    And yes, I have walked the park at night many times =). My friends and I walked all the way from 50th to 81st while cutting through the park. Skating at Wollman Rink at night is pretty awesome too.

    And the Central Park Scavenger Hunt is awesome as well. Yeah, it’s the history major in me!

  3. Neal permalink
    November 12, 2008 1:49 am

    Sarah,

    Great job finding yourself a slice of calm amidst the busy city. Thank you for such a vivid description – I think I just followed you down the mossy, stone staircase. Enjoying the scenery is definitely something I could see myself doing.

    When I was in Alaska, I felt like there wasn’t even enough time to take in my surroundings with full appreciation. I was delighted everywhere I looked.

    Keep noticing the great furnishings the city provides. Whether it’s in the buildings, the lights, or the parks, that’s where true inspiration lies.

Leave a Reply

